Initial D World - Discussion Board / Forums

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )Resend Validation Email

DJ Panel ( Server Stats )   Song History   Initial D World Chat Room (Discord)   Broadband Stream
RADIO BROADCAST » streaming at 96kbps with 3 unique listeners, playing m.o.v.e - platinum

2 Pages  1 2  ( Go to first unread post )

Views: 21,388  ·  Replies: 26 
> Car Jerking
strategist102
  Posted: Oct 16 2013, 10:01 PM

IDW Full Member

Group: Members
Member No.: 30,473

Hi

I'm relatively new to driving stick shift, and I had a couple of questions about clutch control.

My usual procedure when moving off from 1st is to release the clutch to the biting point, let it slip for about 2 seconds, and then fully release the clutch. I try to make sure my rpms are high so the car won't stall.

However, I've noticed that if I hold the clutch at the biting point for a bit longer and I release the clutch the car starts to jerk a bit.

I've also noticed that sometimes my upshifts will produce a jerk in the car. My procedure for this is: clutch in, shift, clutch out but when I release the clutch it's done as smoothly and controlled as possible.

So, in summary:
Why does the car jerk when I hold the clutch at the biting point for a relatively longer time?

Why is it that more throttle allows you to release the clutch faster?

And, how can I reduce the jerkiness of the car when I'm upshifting?
TranceKitsune
Posted: Oct 16 2013, 11:07 PM

IDW God Member

Member No.: 42,103