Initial D World - Discussion Board / Forums
   
Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )Resend Validation Email

DJ Panel ( Server Stats )   Song History   Initial D World Chat Room (IRC)   Broadband Stream
RADIO BROADCAST » streaming at 96kbps with 10 unique listeners, playing (Battle Stage 2) Helena - Lonely Night 2005

       

  Important Rules
Post everything about Initial D Arcade Stage 6 AA and 7 AAX here. If you want to talk about ver.1 and ver.2, please post them in the ver.1 - 2 section. For anything about ver.3, please post them in the version 3 section. For anything about ver.4, please post them in the version 4 section. For anything about ver.5, please post them in the version 5 section. Participating in flame wars will be severely punished. NO plagiarism in any case. If you are posting information (i.e. - shift points) that did not originate from this forums, by all means, give the author / source proper credit. Violator will be given a verbal warning on first offence and an actual warning thereafter.


FORUM MODERATOR : FORUM MODERATOR

 

Views: 560  ·  Replies: 15 
> How do people record the arcade cabinets
Eternal Firebird
  Posted: Apr 7 2017, 05:17 AM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Member No.: 47,345
Joined: Aug 6th 2016
Location: 20th Ward





I've always wondered how they record footage of Arcade Stage 4-8, if you seen AS4-7 on YouTube, its in low quality
(Examples)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u5TOEFmGVmI...k-1SBQuFojQw7-K
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lH8o4qP9J-0

Some videos are also low quality but the sound is in mono
Examples
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGOzKEb7NYw...nWmeewxMVYN1PTY
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-TUnr2tsAtA...YN1PTY&index=10

But in some AS8, the gameplay footage is high quality
Examples
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3Wssvib7M8&t=127s
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4HqsO9nGjE...k-1SBQuFojQw7-K

But my question is, how do they record the gameplay?
SonicSP
Posted: Apr 7 2017, 05:47 AM


Nagao Fanboy
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,874
Member No.: 36,182
Joined: Aug 27th 2010
Location: The Internet, DUH





From what I recall:

You need to open the panel behind the seat, which requires a key from the owner.

Then run a HDMI cable from the machine through a capture card (a device that can capture HDMI signals) then connect that to a laptop. You will also need a 3.5mm audio splitter dongle so you can have one audio line running through the D8 machine and another back to the capture card to be recorded.

The D8 machines are very particular. As the game outputs at 768P or 1360x768 resolution, you will need a capture card that is comparable with that exact resolution, otherwise it won't work (we tried). The power of your laptop also determines how good of a quality you can set the final video output too. Higher resolutions and higher framerates require more powerful specs.

That should be most of it, SHINN should know the exact details since he does this every time he plays.

This post has been edited by SonicSP on Apr 7 2017, 05:51 AM
-=SHINN=-
Posted: Apr 7 2017, 02:12 PM


MYS Retired Perfectionist Racer
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 465
Member No.: 37,532
Joined: Jun 23rd 2011
Location: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia





QUOTE (SonicSP @ 8 hours, 25 minutes ago)
From what I recall:

You need to open the panel behind the seat, which requires a key from the owner.

Then run a HDMI cable from the machine through a capture card (a device that can capture HDMI signals) then connect that to a laptop. You will also need a 3.5mm audio splitter dongle so you can have one audio line running through the D8 machine and another back to the capture card to be recorded.

The D8 machines are very particular. As the game outputs at 768P or 1360x768 resolution, you will need a capture card that is comparable with that exact resolution, otherwise it won't work (we tried). The power of your laptop also determines how good of a quality you can set the final video output too. Higher resolutions and higher framerates require more powerful specs.

That should be most of it, SHINN should know the exact details since he does this every time he plays.

Yeap basically that covered everything. awesome.gif
holnivek
Posted: Apr 7 2017, 02:29 PM


IDW God Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 157
Member No.: 46,366
Joined: Mar 23rd 2016
Location: Seattle, WA





What were the specs of the laptop you used to record? I remember you had a red Dell or something and your videos always come out really nice and clear.
Eternal Firebird
  Posted: Apr 7 2017, 02:54 PM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Member No.: 47,345
Joined: Aug 6th 2016
Location: 20th Ward





QUOTE (-=SHINN=- @ 41 minutes, 49 seconds ago)
Yeap basically that covered everything. awesome.gif

Aren't you the one with the "ivan oon" channel.
SonicSP
Posted: Apr 7 2017, 09:02 PM


Nagao Fanboy
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,874
Member No.: 36,182
Joined: Aug 27th 2010
Location: The Internet, DUH





Yes he is.
-=SHINN=-
Posted: Apr 8 2017, 12:04 AM


MYS Retired Perfectionist Racer
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 465
Member No.: 37,532
Joined: Jun 23rd 2011
Location: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia





QUOTE (holnivek @ 9 hours, 35 minutes ago)
What were the specs of the laptop you used to record? I remember you had a red Dell or something and your videos always come out really nice and clear.

It's some low end 2gb ram HP laptop. I had to reduce the quality of the video taken. Can still take a much higher quality but my laptop couldn't keep up with the burden. laugh2.gif
holnivek
Posted: Apr 8 2017, 12:14 AM


IDW God Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 157
Member No.: 46,366
Joined: Mar 23rd 2016
Location: Seattle, WA





Compared to the vast majority of D8 videos on Youtube, I think they look pretty damn good. Looking forward to more videos from you when D0 gets rolled out in MYS.

This post has been edited by holnivek on Apr 8 2017, 12:14 AM
-=SHINN=-
Posted: Apr 8 2017, 04:26 AM


MYS Retired Perfectionist Racer
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 465
Member No.: 37,532
Joined: Jun 23rd 2011
Location: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia





QUOTE (holnivek @ 4 hours, 12 minutes ago)
Compared to the vast majority of D8 videos on Youtube, I think they look pretty damn good. Looking forward to more videos from you when D0 gets rolled out in MYS.

Well I think I can confirm I won't be recording any D0 video. I'm selling away the recording device, has no plan on starting D0 actually. Frankly it's getting bored like reviving old franchise over and over again. The whole thing is exactly similar to D5+D6 not to mentioned the drift angle, amount of speed drop after bc and gold drift tyre conservation.
holnivek
Posted: Apr 8 2017, 02:56 PM


IDW God Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 157
Member No.: 46,366
Joined: Mar 23rd 2016
Location: Seattle, WA





Ah, that's too bad. Surprised to hear even our Shinn senpai will retire soon 😢

I really wish they kept D8 running, even though we don't have online access here.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ]
-=SHINN=-
Posted: Apr 8 2017, 08:41 PM


MYS Retired Perfectionist Racer
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 465
Member No.: 37,532
Joined: Jun 23rd 2011
Location: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia





QUOTE (holnivek @ 5 hours, 44 minutes ago)
Ah, that's too bad. Surprised to hear even our Shinn senpai will retire soon 😢

I really wish they kept D8 running, even though we don't have online access here.

Haha nah I just realised I'm not cut out for the game, so yea better stop when I could.
holnivek
Posted: Apr 9 2017, 12:36 AM


IDW God Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 157
Member No.: 46,366
Joined: Mar 23rd 2016
Location: Seattle, WA





If the infinity-ranked prodigy is not cut out, then the rest of us should move to wangan awesome.gif
SonicSP
Posted: Apr 9 2017, 01:26 AM


Nagao Fanboy
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,874
Member No.: 36,182
Joined: Aug 27th 2010
Location: The Internet, DUH





Ya, I'm sad too. sad.gif

I might stop as well depending on how I feel about the D0 steering. The slightly above 90 degree steering limit sounds like a real real turn off to me than from our current 270 degree steering. Reducing it by that much doesn't sound very fun.

That said, if it ever comes to Malaysia, I will try it out and see for myself and hope I will like it.

This post has been edited by SonicSP on Apr 9 2017, 01:27 AM
holnivek
Posted: Apr 9 2017, 01:54 AM


IDW God Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 157
Member No.: 46,366
Joined: Mar 23rd 2016
Location: Seattle, WA





Honestly I'm okay with the reduced turn angle of the steering wheel, I think the bigger problem is that the complex courses have been taken away. If they removed just one or two that are less popular, I don't mind. The problem is they took away EIGHT OF THEM, THAT'S HALF. What are you thinking Sega? facepalm.gif

This post has been edited by holnivek on Apr 9 2017, 01:55 AM
SonicSP
Posted: Apr 9 2017, 03:16 AM


Nagao Fanboy
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,874
Member No.: 36,182
Joined: Aug 27th 2010
Location: The Internet, DUH





Probabaly so they can reintroduce it later and call it a "feature".

There is precedence for it though, they did the same thing for D4 though not to the same extent. Shomaru's been gone for awhile too. Akina Snow and Tsuchisaka were taken out for a few games as well.

It's also not that unusual in racing games unfortunately. Fujimi Kaido, the Japanese mountain course from the main Forza series was removed a few years ago in Forza Motorsports 5. To this day, its still not back and Forza 6 has been out for more than a year. A lot of other courses were removed from Forza 4 to 5 too due to the transition to a new console though some have been reintroduced back.

They can't even use the story as an excuse. Courses like Hakone and Tsukuba are not supposed to be in Legends but are in the game.

This post has been edited by SonicSP on Apr 9 2017, 04:49 AM
Eternal Firebird
  Posted: Apr 13 2017, 05:01 PM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Member No.: 47,345
Joined: Aug 6th 2016
Location: 20th Ward





I'm wondering if Round 1 Arcade can allow people record the cabinet.