Initial D World - Discussion Board / Forums
   
Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )Resend Validation Email

DJ Panel ( Server Stats )   Song History   Initial D World Chat Room (Discord)   Broadband Stream
RADIO BROADCAST » streaming at 96kbps with 10 unique listeners, playing m.o.v.e - Around The World

       

  Important Rules
Post everything about Initial D Arcade Stage 6 AA and 7 AAX here. If you want to talk about ver.1 and ver.2, please post them in the ver.1 - 2 section. For anything about ver.3, please post them in the version 3 section. For anything about ver.4, please post them in the version 4 section. For anything about ver.5, please post them in the version 5 section. Participating in flame wars will be severely punished. NO plagiarism in any case. If you are posting information (i.e. - shift points) that did not originate from this forums, by all means, give the author / source proper credit. Violator will be given a verbal warning on first offence and an actual warning thereafter.


FORUM MODERATOR : FORUM MODERATOR

20 Pages  « 18 19 20  ( Go to first unread post )

Views: 103,533  ·  Replies: 481 
> Teknoparrot now supports ID6, ID7, and ID8
thestreetzking
Posted: Jan 26 2019, 03:17 PM


IDW Jr. Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 59
Member No.: 28,571
Joined: Feb 1st 2008
Location: NY





QUOTE (LeGeNd-1 @ Jan 17 2019, 04:24 PM)

The FFB in IDAS games are not that great unfortunately. If you're used to sim racing, which I assume you do having a T500RS, then it will feel very weak and undetailed. Having said that, I didn't play much of the actual arcade so I can't vouch how accurate it is in Tekno. Wangan in Tekno feels ok, but IDAS I just can't get comfortable with. So much so that I prefer playing using a pad actually.

As for the FFB settings, here's mine (I use a T-GT so should be similar):
Sine 1000
Friction 1000
Spring 1250
Constant 2250

1000 is pretty much zero effect, so you can try out what each setting does by putting the rest to 1000 and increasing the one you're testing. From memory Sine is vibration effect (when running over kerbs), Friction is damper, Spring is centering spring and Constant is the main FFB torque.

this was helpful thank you!

I see this can be played online using the teknoparrot online. I also got WMMT 5 working flawlessly but is there any way that can be played online?
LeGeNd-1
Posted: Jan 31 2019, 04:43 PM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Member No.: 31,903
Joined: Feb 15th 2009
Location: Australia





QUOTE (thestreetzking @ Jan 27 2019, 06:17 AM)
this was helpful thank you!

I see this can be played online using the teknoparrot online. I also got WMMT 5 working flawlessly but is there any way that can be played online?

I heard some rumblings that WMMT 5 is only LAN play for now, and even that is quite complicated to do. Don't think online ghost battles are fully supported (or ever will, considering the servers are now taken down). Sorry, I don't really play online much so can't help you further. Joining the Teknoparrot discord would be the best place to go.
SonicSP
Posted: Feb 8 2019, 10:30 PM


Nagao Fanboy
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 2,031
Member No.: 36,182
Joined: Aug 27th 2010
Location: The Internet, DUH





Thanks to some help from Akii, I managed to get D5 working yesterday at 60FPS. Generally works well minus the annoying sound bugs and crash whenever my firewall is on.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ]
LeGeNd-1
Posted: Feb 16 2019, 05:57 PM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Member No.: 31,903
Joined: Feb 15th 2009
Location: Australia





QUOTE (SonicSP @ Feb 9 2019, 01:30 PM)
Thanks to some help from Akii, I managed to get D5 working yesterday at 60FPS. Generally works well minus the annoying sound bugs and crash whenever my firewall is on.

Does the menu musics and gameplay handling work as normal? I have bad experiences everytime I upgrade Tekno because they always change the format of WMMT5 saves and make me lose all my cars. I don't wanna upgrade until D5 is confirmed fully playable because otherwise it's just a waste of time.
SonicSP
Posted: Feb 16 2019, 11:39 PM


Nagao Fanboy
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 2,031
Member No.: 36,182
Joined: Aug 27th 2010
Location: The Internet, DUH





Gameplay handling works fine in Full Screen but sound bugs is still an issue. If the FPS is running 60, you should be fine and that can be confirmed with a FPS counter. The physics is still messed up in Windowed Mode.

Some people have issues having the game working at full screen though however you wouldn't know until you try.

I suggest instead of "upgrading" you just download a new TP version and try D5 and see whether it works. You can have multiple TP on your PC at one time and they won't interfere with each other generally (just keep them in their respective folders).

For first time setup of the new TP, you just need to activate the exe of the TP version you wanna play, rebind the controls and point to the exe or elf of the game you wanna play as normal.

If you then find out that you are one of those where D5 doesn't want to work full screen, you can then just go back and use your previous TP without any issues.

I even have two separate copies of TP of the same version for gamepad and wheel respectively. This is so I can just use the one I want without having to rebind the controls every time I change.

Gameplay working on D4/D5 on TP 1.81 and above. On the latest version, Teknoparrot Online can also be used to play D4/D5 without a Patreon subscription. I played D5 online with jon360 yesterday in fact.

This post has been edited by SonicSP on Feb 17 2019, 12:37 AM
LeGeNd-1
Posted: Feb 17 2019, 06:09 PM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Member No.: 31,903
Joined: Feb 15th 2009
Location: Australia





QUOTE (SonicSP @ Yesterday, 2:39 PM)
Gameplay handling works fine in Full Screen but sound bugs is still an issue. If the FPS is running 60, you should be fine and that can be confirmed with a FPS counter. The physics is still messed up in Windowed Mode.

Some people have issues having the game working at full screen though however you wouldn't know until you try.

I suggest instead of "upgrading" you just download a new TP version and try D5 and see whether it works. You can have multiple TP on your PC at one time and they won't interfere with each other generally (just keep them in their respective folders).

For first time setup of the new TP, you just need to activate the exe of the TP version you wanna play, rebind the controls and point to the exe or elf of the game you wanna play as normal.

If you then find out that you are one of those where D5 doesn't want to work full screen, you can then just go back and use your previous TP without any issues.

I even have two separate copies of TP of the same version for gamepad and wheel respectively. This is so I can just use the one I want without having to rebind the controls every time I change.

Gameplay working on D4/D5 on TP 1.81 and above. On the latest version, Teknoparrot Online can also be used to play D4/D5 without a Patreon subscription. I played D5 online with jon360 yesterday in fact.

Thanks for the detailed post. Sounds like it's still not fully compatible then. I'm on TP 1.80 and when I tried D5 I can't run it in Full Screen. Windowed mode the game runs but menu music is completely messed up and the cars are undrivable despite Fraps showing 60 FPS. I might just sit this one out for now.

Good idea on using 2 separate TP installs. I'll do that whenever I'm upgrading next.
SonicSP
Posted: Feb 19 2019, 06:02 AM


Nagao Fanboy
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 2,031
Member No.: 36,182
Joined: Aug 27th 2010
Location: The Internet, DUH





1.80 will not work regardless because the fix is not in yet in that version. You will need 1.81 or above. You might want to try one more time with a newer version.

Sound bugs might take awhile to did though. Its an issue related to the Linux emulation and is in all the Lindhberg games.





This post has been edited by SonicSP on Feb 19 2019, 06:05 AM

20 Pages  « 18 19 20