Initial D World - Discussion Board / Forums
   
Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )Resend Validation Email

DJ Panel ( Server Stats )   Song History   Initial D World Chat Room (Discord)   Broadband Stream
RADIO BROADCAST » streaming at 96kbps with 13 unique listeners, playing m.o.v.e - Creamy Soup

       

3 Pages  1 2 3  ( Go to first unread post )

Views: 8,121  ·  Replies: 62 
> Help! 1993 Toyota Pickup
Hachi_Roku
Posted: Jun 2 2012, 09:55 PM


5000 GET !!
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,163
Member No.: 8,897
Joined: Jun 26th 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada





For the head gasket, there is a recall available from Toyota for it. Check to see if it's been done in the past, and if not, you can get that done free of charge. But from the sound of it, it's not worth it.

This post has been edited by Hachi_Roku on Jun 2 2012, 09:56 PM
Insig
  Posted: Jun 3 2012, 10:05 AM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Member No.: 35,308
Joined: Apr 7th 2010
Location: Drivers Seat





Yeah, I know about the recall my father had that done when in 1996. Thank you all for the advice I think for now I am going to go out and buy a haynes manual and read it up till I have them practically memorized, and again it is not like I am going to be alone doing this I will have someone with plenty of experience standing by me.

This post has been edited by Insig on Jun 3 2012, 10:05 AM
Mazda ina Ford guy
Posted: Jun 3 2012, 05:47 PM


333 Half Evil
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 507
Member No.: 37,098
Joined: Mar 9th 2011
Location: The Twin Cities





Get a Chiltons as well, and good luck! smile.gif

[ Post made via Mobile Device ]
HorizontalMitsubishi
Posted: Jun 4 2012, 08:02 AM


Part of the Tessou Signature Series
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 2,439
Member No.: 2,022
Joined: Jun 16th 2004
Location: Torrance California





uhh... i'd avoid those aftermarket manuals at all cost and get your hands on a factory service manual.

something like this...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1993-Toyota-T100-P...3a30035&vxp=mtr

and if you really wanted to have your bases covered, then w00t2.gif

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1993-Toyota-T100-S...3bfc315&vxp=mtr

This post has been edited by HorizontalMitsubishi on Jun 4 2012, 08:08 AM
s12drifter
Posted: Jun 4 2012, 12:29 PM


The Lulz Boat
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,363
Member No.: 23,696
Joined: Mar 21st 2007
Location: Update Profile





QUOTE (HorizontalMitsubishi @ 4 hours, 27 minutes ago)
uhh... i'd avoid those aftermarket manuals at all cost and get your hands on a factory service manual.

something like this...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1993-Toyota-T100-P...3a30035&vxp=mtr

and if you really wanted to have your bases covered, then w00t2.gif

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1993-Toyota-T100-S...3bfc315&vxp=mtr

what he said. i dont trust haynes or chilton.

i have service manuals from most nissans/datsuns from 1976-1999
Spaz
Posted: Jun 4 2012, 01:37 PM


Just a guy towing a car across the country to chase a dream.
Group Icon

Group: FORUM MODERATOR
Posts: 9,268
Member No.: 30,193
Joined: Jul 25th 2008
Location: Plymouth, MN





I used Chiltons for the exploded diagrams and accompanying torque specs when I didn't feel like dragging my laptop out for FSMs.

That, of course, was when I owned a vehicle that had more options than just the FSM. cool.gif
Proud Contributor of Initial D World Forums
Insig
  Posted: Jun 4 2012, 03:27 PM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Member No.: 35,308
Joined: Apr 7th 2010
Location: Drivers Seat





The link I posted a while back could that be the fsm? It looks like it.
HorizontalMitsubishi
Posted: Jun 4 2012, 08:31 PM


Part of the Tessou Signature Series
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 2,439
Member No.: 2,022
Joined: Jun 16th 2004
Location: Torrance California





Yes, those are pages scanned from the actual FSM, but it's much easier to flip through a hard copy for me at least then to get your laptop all greasy looking up info.
Spaz
Posted: Jun 4 2012, 10:05 PM


Just a guy towing a car across the country to chase a dream.
Group Icon

Group: FORUM MODERATOR
Posts: 9,268
Member No.: 30,193
Joined: Jul 25th 2008
Location: Plymouth, MN





QUOTE (HorizontalMitsubishi @ 1 hour, 33 minutes ago)
Yes, those are pages scanned from the actual FSM, but it's much easier to flip through a hard copy for me at least then to get your laptop all greasy looking up info.

Then you can get an expensive book greasy! awesome.gif
Proud Contributor of Initial D World Forums
sideways
Posted: Jun 5 2012, 12:20 AM


We're the People's Front of Judea!
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 13,121
Member No.: 1,355
Joined: Feb 28th 2004
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada





QUOTE (HorizontalMitsubishi @ 3 hours, 49 minutes ago)
Yes, those are pages scanned from the actual FSM, but it's much easier to flip through a hard copy for me at least then to get your laptop all greasy looking up info.

Concur. Ive done it numerous times going "Eeennnhh.. ill be careful". One day ill stop lieing to myself.













One day.
Mazda ina Ford guy
Posted: Jun 5 2012, 03:40 AM


333 Half Evil
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 507
Member No.: 37,098
Joined: Mar 9th 2011
Location: The Twin Cities





QUOTE (Spaz @ 5 hours, 35 minutes ago)
Then you can get an expensive book greasy! awesome.gif

If your shop manual isn't greasy, your "doing it wrong"!

[ Post made via Mobile Device ]
MattW
Posted: Jun 5 2012, 08:51 AM


VOLVO For Life.
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 6,069
Member No.: 23,273
Joined: Feb 17th 2007
Location: Southington Connecticut, USA





QUOTE (Mazda ina Ford guy @ 5 hours, 10 minutes ago)
If your shop manual isn't greasy, your "doing it wrong"!

no, if it's not greasy you're doing it right.

it means you've understood it after looking at it before you started your job, and haven't had to use it during it.
Spaz
Posted: Jun 5 2012, 12:01 PM


Just a guy towing a car across the country to chase a dream.
Group Icon

Group: FORUM MODERATOR
Posts: 9,268
Member No.: 30,193
Joined: Jul 25th 2008
Location: Plymouth, MN





I've also used a white board to make notes of important things I may not remember, such as torque specs, fluid amounts (or number of bottle pumps to equate said amounts), and things I've taken off that may not be directly related to the job that will need to be reinstalled before starting the car. I've also thrown it on the work bench and circled groups of bolts by application. Handiest fucking thing I've ever had in the garage.
Proud Contributor of Initial D World Forums
Mazda ina Ford guy
Posted: Jun 5 2012, 04:30 PM


333 Half Evil
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 507
Member No.: 37,098
Joined: Mar 9th 2011
Location: The Twin Cities





QUOTE (MattW @ 7 hours, 38 minutes ago)
no, if it's not greasy you're doing it right.

it means you've understood it after looking at it before you started your job, and haven't had to use it during it.

If you have a photographic memory, maybe, I don't trust myself to memorize a 3 page long procedure word for word. Also when a repair is made that entails HOURS of dissasembly just to gain access I like to have absolute f**king ceritude I have followed the process to the best of my ability. The old mesure twice cut once rule. At the Mitsu dealer I worked at the factory manuals were fithy! 'Corse once the ASE certified factory trained techs start pouring through the books, your car is in trouble.

I have only recently gotten intewebz access, and have found it to be a powerfull tool for wrenching, thanks internet!

[ Post made via Mobile Device ]

This post has been edited by Mazda ina Ford guy on Jun 5 2012, 04:39 PM
Insig
  Posted: Jun 5 2012, 09:39 PM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Member No.: 35,308
Joined: Apr 7th 2010
Location: Drivers Seat





I plan to get each part I disassemble its own box and within the box even more boxes for small items, ie screws. I also plan to take PLENTY of photos and label each box with both the photo of the complete part and a sharpie marking that clearly states what part it is.
Mazda ina Ford guy
Posted: Jun 6 2012, 12:29 PM


333 Half Evil
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 507
Member No.: 37,098
Joined: Mar 9th 2011
Location: The Twin Cities





Pics and vid of dissasembly are helpfull as well, plus then you can post them up! Lots of good sugestions in this thread.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ]
Insig
  Posted: Aug 18 2012, 02:54 PM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Member No.: 35,308
Joined: Apr 7th 2010
Location: Drivers Seat





Eh, I don't really know if it is okay to revive this thread but, I went ahead and did the rebuild by myself and it is working now, however I noticed that my car won't stay on and so I asked for some help from my teacher and he looked at it and told me it was the throttle body. I tried calling all the dealers around me and I found nothing. So I decided to look for throttle body at Junkyards and I am wondering how can I tell if it's a good throttle body?
Mazda ina Ford guy
Posted: Aug 18 2012, 07:26 PM


333 Half Evil
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 507
Member No.: 37,098
Joined: Mar 9th 2011
Location: The Twin Cities





Check for slop in the butterfly bearings, check for wear where the butterfly plate seals against the throught of the throttle body, any sticking or resistance of movement of the butterfly is a sign of a worn out/high mileage part. Also check for crud in any vacume ports or any where else, I assume you have access to a parts washer, use it smile.gif Can't think of anything else right now, good luck and don't forget to shop around to get the best price, junk yards often are negotiable on price.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ]
Insig
  Posted: Aug 22 2012, 04:45 PM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Member No.: 35,308
Joined: Apr 7th 2010
Location: Drivers Seat





So I took out the throttle body popped in a new one I got from the junkyard and my truck works fine. Here's the question though, why is my throttle body broken? I took a couple of pics. I'll put the link in the spoiler any help is much appreciated.
SPOILER
s12drifter
Posted: Aug 23 2012, 06:07 AM


The Lulz Boat
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,363
Member No.: 23,696
Joined: Mar 21st 2007
Location: Update Profile





QUOTE (Insig @ Yesterday, 8:45 PM)
So I took out the throttle body popped in a new one I got from the junkyard and my truck works fine. Here's the question though, why is my throttle body broken? I took a couple of pics. I'll put the link in the spoiler any help is much appreciated.
SPOILER

I dont know what your engine does for a source of idle control but on the newer nissan pathfinders they have no egr or idle controls. since it's drive by wire the throttle body keeps it's self open enough to make the engine idle around 600-700rpms Obviously this is computer controlled action. i would think the vacuum diaphragm there is very similar to the same thing but I'm not 100% sure. could also be the tps is gone/ out of whack as well.
Nomake Wan
Posted: Aug 23 2012, 08:28 AM


ShiMACHaze
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 19,508
Member No.: 5,394
Joined: Feb 5th 2005
Location: Drydock





S12 you realize that everything you just typed has absolutely no relevance whatsoever to the throttle body on his '93 Toyota pickup right?! facepalm.gif
Proud Contributor of IDW Forums and the Music Section Revival Project
elemein
Posted: Aug 23 2012, 12:02 PM


Last of the Sperglords
***

Group: Members
Posts: 49
Member No.: 38,076
Joined: Nov 8th 2011
Location: Update Profile





QUOTE (Nomake Wan @ 3 hours, 33 minutes ago)
S12 you realize that everything you just typed has absolutely no relevance whatsoever to the throttle body on his '93 Toyota pickup right?! facepalm.gif

Seems pretty relevant to me. Where is idle air let in? Through the throttle body.
Insig
  Posted: Aug 23 2012, 01:07 PM


IDW Full Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Member No.: 35,308
Joined: Apr 7th 2010
Location: Drivers Seat





Well either way thank you for the info. It at the very least taught me something, and hey they say you learn something new everyday. Yesterday I went ahead and researched some stuff online and I have a hunch it might be the sensor. I think that I will take the throttle body to a Toyota Dealer and see what they have to say, only if it's free or close to being free hahaha!

Edit: BTW if a mod or the admin wants they can close this thread. I think my questions have been answered.

This post has been edited by Insig on Aug 23 2012, 01:07 PM
Mazda ina Ford guy
Posted: Aug 23 2012, 02:05 PM


333 Half Evil
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 507
Member No.: 37,098
Joined: Mar 9th 2011
Location: The Twin Cities





I can't view your pic. Good luck with the free thing, though! This vintage Toyota most likely uses an idle air passage for (obviously tongue.gif) air at idle.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ]
Nomake Wan
Posted: Aug 23 2012, 05:54 PM


ShiMACHaze
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 19,508
Member No.: 5,394
Joined: Feb 5th 2005
Location: Drydock





QUOTE (elemein @ 5 hours, 52 minutes ago)
Seems pretty relevant to me. Where is idle air let in? Through the throttle body.

Ah yes, quite right. Obviously a throttle body from a modern Nissan drive-by-wire vehicle is equivalent to a throttle body from a '93 Toyota pickup truck. Silly me, what was I thinking? rolleyes.gif Obviously his advice is perfectly sound, then!

Holy crap, junior. Holy crap.
Proud Contributor of IDW Forums and the Music Section Revival Project

3 Pages  1 2 3