Initial D World - Discussion Board / Forums
   
Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )Resend Validation Email

DJ Panel ( Server Stats )   Song History   Initial D World Chat Room (IRC)   Broadband Stream
RADIO BROADCAST » streaming at 96kbps with 9 unique listeners, playing m.o.v.e - soukyuu no flight

       

  Important Rules
Please do NOT post knowingly false information. Violators will be issued an actual warning.
Please do NOT copy and paste articles from other websites. Link and short description is ok, but please do not copy and paste pages of info. Violator will be issued a verbal warning.
Do NOT post any torrents and/or links to pirated copies of software here. Violator will be issued a verbal warning.
Discussions about illegal materials such as ROMs, WAREZ and methods of copying copyrighted materials are not encouraged in this subforum.

FORUM MODERATOR : FORUM MODERATOR

 

Views: 1,908  ·  Replies: 15 
> Animated GIFs on Windows Vista/7/8!
Nomake Wan
  Posted: Jun 10 2013, 10:43 AM


ShiMACHaze
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 19,147
Member No.: 5,394
Joined: Feb 5th 2005
Location: Drydock





So I was bored, and when I get bored sometimes I go through my mental list of things that annoy me about my OS. Previously this allowed me to finally fix Windows 7's 'forgetful' explorer, as well as tweak a few unnecessary things and clean stuff up. So this time I got bored and thought, 'I wonder if anyone's fixed the whole Image-Preview-Can't-Play-Animated-GIFs' thing?

I mean, it's silly, right? XP had no problem whatsoever playing animated GIFs in its preview. Yet Vista/7/8 can't. What gives? Well, the running theory is that the functionality was going to be a paid premium feature. Yep, they're really that disgusting. Except it never got off the ground, so instead it defaults to Internet Explorer (slow!) or IrfanView (overcomplicated for simple quick image viewing!). I want native functionality!

Well... here it is. Someone went and made a hack that gives you an XP image previewer. You install it, then just open a GIF file like normal. Voila, it's like you're back on XP again. Hopefully some people here find it as useful as I did.

XP-Style GIF Image Viewer

IMPORTANT NOTE!

If after double-clicking the file to install and opening a GIF you get an error about a missing DLL, go to your Windows directory, open the folder named 'gif' and right-click the 'rundll32.exe' file. Click properties, go to the compatibility tab and set it to 'Windows XP (Service Pack 3)'. OK out of everything and you should be good to go. A future version of the installer may do this for you, but trust me, it works!! cool.gif

This post has been edited by Nomake Wan on Jun 10 2013, 10:44 AM
Proud Contributor of the Music Section Revival Project
Sensation!
Posted: Jun 10 2013, 12:38 PM


As expected of country grown vegetables
Group Icon

Group: Special Snowflake
Posts: 2,296
Member No.: 19,520
Joined: Aug 14th 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA.





Good freaking find. Now I wont have to open gifs in my browser anymore.
kyonpalm
Posted: Jun 10 2013, 01:55 PM


Professional Amateur
Group Icon

Group: ADMINISTRATOR
Posts: 10,448
Member No.: 30,882
Joined: Oct 16th 2008
Location: Laniakea





Probably the first gripe I had about 7 when I first started using it... now fixed. Thanks for the tip!
Proud Contributor of the Music Section Revival Project
Lebon14
Posted: Jun 10 2013, 02:18 PM


Totally Gone U Gaiz 4 Real
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 6,593
Member No.: 18,005
Joined: May 25th 2006
Location: Canada





QUOTE (Nomake Wan)
A future version of the installer may do this for you, but trust me, it works!!


No, it doesn't.

This post has been edited by Lebon14 on Jun 10 2013, 02:19 PM
Proud Contributor of the Music Section Revival Project
Nomake Wan
  Posted: Jun 10 2013, 04:23 PM


ShiMACHaze
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 19,147
Member No.: 5,394
Joined: Feb 5th 2005
Location: Drydock





QUOTE (Lebon14 @ 2 hours, 4 minutes ago)

No, it doesn't.

Hows about you be more specific, eh Lebonbon? I can't help you if all you say is 'No, it doesn't'...especially seeing as myself and the two people above you who all run Windows 7 have confirmed that yes, in fact, it does work. wink2.gif
Proud Contributor of the Music Section Revival Project
Lebon14
Posted: Jun 10 2013, 05:59 PM


Totally Gone U Gaiz 4 Real
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 6,593
Member No.: 18,005
Joined: May 25th 2006
Location: Canada





Installed. No errors. Open animated GIF file, still a "still" like it alwas has been. No errors whatsovever. Tried to run as SP3 the file mentionned. Same thing. Even installed, rebooted and tried again. Nope.

EDIT

Difference between me and you :
You : Windows 7 *insert version* SP1 English
Me : Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 French

I suspect bolded term to be the problem

EDIT 2

If you don't believe me, I can show you through TeamViewer.

This post has been edited by Lebon14 on Jun 10 2013, 06:04 PM
Proud Contributor of the Music Section Revival Project
kyonpalm
Posted: Jun 10 2013, 07:48 PM


Professional Amateur
Group Icon

Group: ADMINISTRATOR
Posts: 10,448
Member No.: 30,882
Joined: Oct 16th 2008
Location: Laniakea





QUOTE (Nomake Wan @ 3 hours, 25 minutes ago)
...especially seeing as myself and the two people above you who all run Windows 7 have confirmed that yes, in fact, it does work. wink2.gif

For the record, I haven't actually tried it out yet (due to critical net problems at the moment) but I commented on the assumption that it does work. Still, it works for you and presumably Fred, so I assume it'll probably work for me too. Will report back as soon as I can try it out.
Proud Contributor of the Music Section Revival Project
Nomake Wan
  Posted: Jun 11 2013, 12:13 AM


ShiMACHaze
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 19,147
Member No.: 5,394
Joined: Feb 5th 2005
Location: Drydock





QUOTE (Lebon14 @ 6 hours, 13 minutes ago)
Installed. No errors. Open animated GIF file, still a "still" like it alwas has been. No errors whatsovever. Tried to run as SP3 the file mentionned. Same thing. Even installed, rebooted and tried again. Nope.

EDIT

Difference between me and you :
You : Windows 7 *insert version* SP1 English
Me : Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 French

I suspect bolded term to be the problem

EDIT 2

If you don't believe me, I can show you through TeamViewer.

The error which would have required you to change the Compatibility Mode was, as mentioned in the first post, a 'missing DLL' error which would have popped up as soon as you open a GIF file.

The source code for the program is here:
Source

And from a quick glance I don't see anything that would cause it to fail to work on a French version of the OS. The only reason it would fail is if the actual Windows registry is different--and I would find that incredibly hard to believe as it would only make Windows needlessly complicated. However, go ahead and open your registry and look for the following keys:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.GIF
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\GIFImage.Document\shell\open
HKEY_LOCAL_MECHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers

If any of those appear in French instead of English, then yes, you're correct and that's why it doesn't work. If however the registry appears in English then there is something else going on here.

When you double-click the file, does it say 'Installed! Try opening a gif now'? If you double-click it again, does it tell you that it's now uninstalled? Also, there is no need for a reboot after using this.
Proud Contributor of the Music Section Revival Project
kyonpalm
Posted: Jun 11 2013, 09:21 AM


Professional Amateur
Group Icon

Group: ADMINISTRATOR
Posts: 10,448
Member No.: 30,882
Joined: Oct 16th 2008
Location: Laniakea





Just reporting in to say it does work. I only had to set rundll32.exe in Windows\gif to compatibility mode as suggested in the OP.
Proud Contributor of the Music Section Revival Project
Vortrex
Posted: Jun 11 2013, 09:46 AM


1988 Toyota MR2 AW11, My Go-Kart AE86
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 559
Member No.: 38,745
Joined: Jul 2nd 2012
Location: Huizen, The Netherlands





You... ARE A GOD! worship.gif

I was waiting for years to get something like this! biggrin.gif
Because i have a lot of gif's and IE is so slow...

So, many thanks!
Sensation!
Posted: Jun 11 2013, 10:50 AM


As expected of country grown vegetables
Group Icon

Group: Special Snowflake
Posts: 2,296
Member No.: 19,520
Joined: Aug 14th 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA.





for the record, yes, I can confirm this works
Lebon14
Posted: Jun 11 2013, 02:40 PM


Totally Gone U Gaiz 4 Real
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 6,593
Member No.: 18,005
Joined: May 25th 2006
Location: Canada





QUOTE (Nomake Wan @ Today, 4:13 AM)
The error which would have required you to change the Compatibility Mode was, as mentioned in the first post, a 'missing DLL' error which would have popped up as soon as you open a GIF file.

The source code for the program is here:
Source

And from a quick glance I don't see anything that would cause it to fail to work on a French version of the OS. The only reason it would fail is if the actual Windows registry is different--and I would find that incredibly hard to believe as it would only make Windows needlessly complicated. However, go ahead and open your registry and look for the following keys:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.GIF
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\GIFImage.Document\shell\open
HKEY_LOCAL_MECHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers

If any of those appear in French instead of English, then yes, you're correct and that's why it doesn't work. If however the registry appears in English then there is something else going on here.

When you double-click the file, does it say 'Installed! Try opening a gif now'? If you double-click it again, does it tell you that it's now uninstalled? Also, there is no need for a reboot after using this.

Yes, when I install and uninstall, those messages appear and no error messages wee shown. The registries are there. The registry is in English even on a French system.

I'll try on my mom's Win7 PC (still in French) to see if it works. Her system is much less changed than mine, much less softwares and so on.

EDIT

Somehow, it works on her and not on mine. What I can see from her working thing is that the old photoviewer is supposed to be added to the Open With menu in the right click (Picture and Fax Viewer). However, on mine, only the Vista/7 image viewer is showing up- oh wait.

The app just failed to make itself the default viewer sleep.gif

AND NOW, every time I open a GIF file, it's gonna ask for permission. Yay, I'm so happy. NOT!

Personnally, a REAL option should replace AND not ask for permission each time. And, no, I'm not disabling UAC. That'd be stupid security wise. In other words, for me, it's FAR from being the ideal solution. I'll just uninstall this and use Firefox like I always did before. And no permission will be asked again.

This post has been edited by Lebon14 on Jun 11 2013, 02:54 PM
Proud Contributor of the Music Section Revival Project
Nomake Wan
  Posted: Jun 11 2013, 10:42 PM


ShiMACHaze
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 19,147
Member No.: 5,394
Joined: Feb 5th 2005
Location: Drydock





Because the discussion about your issue was pruned and moved to another thread, I cannot comment on it except to say "I'm sorry you feel that way."

However, it's good to know that this is indeed a universal solution and that the native language of one's OS has nothing to do with it. smile.gif
Proud Contributor of the Music Section Revival Project
khat17
Posted: Jun 15 2013, 11:07 AM


IDW SIMPLETON
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,149
Member No.: 17,668
Joined: May 7th 2006
Location: Mandeville, Jamaica





Just to throw this into it.

http://www.faststone.org/FSViewerDetail.htm

Opens/loads stuff quickly enough. Why do you say IrfanView is complicated tho N1? I actually have both image viewing apps running portably on my rig with no issues. The difference between them is really how they handle the viewing and whatnot so I use whichever I need for whichever functions I want to easily access.
Nomake Wan
  Posted: Jun 15 2013, 04:41 PM


ShiMACHaze
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 19,147
Member No.: 5,394
Joined: Feb 5th 2005
Location: Drydock





QUOTE (khat17 @ 5 hours, 33 minutes ago)
Why do you say IrfanView is complicated tho N1?

Because in folders with large amounts of images it will fail to load the current image until it has indexed the entire folder, whereas the built-in preview function will not only display the current image but will let you move forwards in the folder listing before indexing is complete. Only moving backwards in the file list requires a delay.

On top of that, I like a more 'native' look to things. Sure, it's not optimal that it's still a separate program, but it looks very similar, is incredibly unobtrusive and is loads better than using IE. cool.gif
Proud Contributor of the Music Section Revival Project
khat17
Posted: Jun 15 2013, 09:13 PM


IDW SIMPLETON
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,149
Member No.: 17,668
Joined: May 7th 2006
Location: Mandeville, Jamaica





So what about ACDSee? Advertised as being able to load stuff quick - supposedly faster than those mentioned. Currently downloading to test it out. Heard about it but never actually used it.