Initial D World - Discussion Board / Forums
   
Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )Resend Validation Email

DJ Panel ( Server Stats )   Song History   Initial D World Chat Room (Discord)   Broadband Stream
RADIO BROADCAST » streaming at 96kbps with 9 unique listeners, playing DJ Cryptomundo Party Hour CM 1

       

  Important Rules
Please do NOT post knowingly false information. Violators will be issued an actual warning.
Please do NOT copy and paste articles from other websites. Link and short description is ok, but please do not copy and paste pages of info. Violator will be issued a verbal warning.
Do NOT post any torrents and/or links to pirated copies of software here. Violator will be issued a verbal warning.
Discussions about illegal materials such as ROMs, WAREZ and methods of copying copyrighted materials are not encouraged in this subforum.

FORUM MODERATOR : FORUM MODERATOR

 

Views: 576  ·  Replies: 6 
> CD Drive Issues
Gizmo
  Posted: Nov 3 2007, 05:52 PM


W00t!
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 890
Member No.: 6,139
Joined: Mar 13th 2005
Location: Skegness, Lincolnshire





well, here goes.

few weeks ago, i turned on my pc and went to burn a CD, and there was an error "No Disc Burning Software Found", first time ive ever got this message, i then realised that in system properties, it refered my drive to some ATAPI CD-ROM Drive, which it has never said before, normally says SONY DVD-RW. Also, when i put a CD in, it wouldnt let me read it, nor detect it was there.

so, anyways, had it for a fair few years, so i gathered it had bitten the dust, so i got my old CD-RW drive out the cupboard, plugged it in, yadda yadda yadda, started up the PC, and it haddnt detected it.

anyways, so i take both drives, i mess with the master and slave ends of the cable, i swap over than bypass switch to master, slave etc, trying loads of combinations...

NOTHING!!!

Any ideas?
Lebon14
Posted: Nov 3 2007, 10:24 PM


🎧
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 6,593
Member No.: 18,005
Joined: May 25th 2006
Location: Canada





maybe it's dead... or, did you try it in another computer to see if it was working? Did you try a lens cleaning cd? And, what is the last thing you made when it was working?

This post has been edited by Lebon14 on Nov 3 2007, 10:24 PM
Proud Contributor of IDW Forums and the Music Section Revival Project
Gizmo
  Posted: Nov 4 2007, 05:33 AM


W00t!
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 890
Member No.: 6,139
Joined: Mar 13th 2005
Location: Skegness, Lincolnshire





It wouldnt just die, i made a CD, CD work perfect, switched PC off, came on next day to go make another CD, wouldnt work.

on my cumpter, the "Eject" button didnt work, IE, it was responding to my commands via the PC.
khat17
Posted: Nov 4 2007, 10:00 AM


IDW SIMPLETON
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,153
Member No.: 17,668
Joined: May 7th 2006
Location: Mandeville, Jamaica





Drive could be bad. Data cable could be bad. Drive could be having power issues. Boot in SAFE MODE and see if it works. Go into your CMOS/BIOS and check if the drive can eject. If it works in BIOS but not in Windows then it's a program messing with it. If it still doesn't eject in BIOS/SAFE MODE then it's power/drive/cable problem.

Failing the above, you could try to download and flash the firmware of the drive. That may help depending on the situation.

PeAcE.
vincentrichter
Posted: Nov 4 2007, 05:41 PM


When's Eronight?
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 833
Member No.: 4,815
Joined: Dec 30th 2004
Location: East Bay, California





I'm actually wondering whether Gizmo is running Daemon-Tools - I had an issue like this some time ago, but I don't remember how I fixed it. I do remember tracing it back to one of the drive-emulation bits of either D-Tools or Alchohol though. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by vincentrichter on Nov 4 2007, 05:41 PM
Proud Contributor of Initial D World Forums
Gizmo
  Posted: Nov 6 2007, 10:30 AM


W00t!
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 890
Member No.: 6,139
Joined: Mar 13th 2005
Location: Skegness, Lincolnshire





fixed it, took the whole pc apart right down to the screws, and rebuilt and cleaned it, i guess something was loose somewere, atleast its now dust free...
khat17
Posted: Nov 6 2007, 04:05 PM


IDW SIMPLETON
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,153
Member No.: 17,668
Joined: May 7th 2006
Location: Mandeville, Jamaica





kool. once or twice per year for the clean?

PeAcE.